OHIO DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES
DIVISION OF OIL & GAS RESOURCES MANAGEMENT
2045 MORSE RD., F-2, COLUMBUS, OH 43229-6693 * (614) 265-6922

Enclosed are copies of the forms pertaining to the transportation of brine in Ohio. The forms included are:

1. Application for Brine Transporter Registration or Modification of Disposal Plan:
Any person or entity that transports brine in this state must register with and obtain a registration
certificate and identification number from the Chief.
The application must include:
* A $500.00 non-refundable application fee.
* A surety bond, certificate of deposit (CD), or a cashier’s check for the amount of $15,000.00.
(Bonding company MUST be authorized to do business in Ohio.)
* A plan for Disposal.
* A certificate issued by an insurance company that states that the applicant has in force
liability insurance coverage of $300,000.00 for bodily injury and $300,000.00 for property
damage coverage.

The Chief may deny an application for a registration certificate if:

A. The applicant has been found liable by court for damage to streets, roads, highways, bridges,
culverts or driveways until the applicant provides evidence of compliance with the order.

B. The applicant’s disposal plan does not provide compliance with the chapter 1509 of the Ohio
Revised Code and rules of the Chief pertaining to the transportation of brine.

A registered transporter must list all sources and disposal sites of brine currently transported on the disposal
plan. A registered transporter must apply to the division to revise a disposal plan.

No transporter can attempt to circumvent the above requirements by applying under a different name or
business organization, by transferring responsibility to another person or entity or by any similar act. Any
violation of the terms of registration may result in civil penalties. Knowingly violating the registration
application plan may leave the violator liable for resulting damages.

2. Transporter Daily Log Samples (see attached): Each registered transporter must maintain a daily
log on each vehicle which details:
* The name of the owner(s) of the well(s) producing the brine to be transported.
* The date and time the brine is loaded.
* The name of the driver.
* The amount of brine loaded at each collection point.
* The disposal location.
* The date and time the brine is disposed of.
* The amount of brine disposed of at each location.

The driver of the vehicle must have the daily log available upon request of the Chief of an authorized
representative of the Chief or peace officer. Violations involving the transporter’s log may result in civil
penalties.
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3. Surety Bond for Brine Transportation System: Before being issued a registration certificate, an
applicant must execute and file with the Division of Oil & Gas Resources Management a surety bond,
cashier’s check, or a negotiable certificate of deposit for $15,000.00 to provide compensation for
damages resulting from transporter’s violation of Sections 1509.22, 1509.222, or 1509.223 of the
Ohio Revised Code. The surety bond must be executed by a surety company authorized to do
business in Ohio. No bond shall be approved unless there is an attached certificate of compliance
signed by the Superintendent of Insurance stating that a company is authorized to transact a fidelity
and surety business in Ohio.

If a registered transporter is found liable for a violation of Sections 1509.22, 1509.222, or 1509.223 of the
Onhio Revised Code, the court may order the forfeiture of all or part of the bond as full or partial payment of
damages, the Chief shall not release the bond except by court order of until two years after the termination of
a registration certificate.

4. The Brine Hauler Annual Report: Each registered transporter must file with the Chief of the Division
of Oil & Gas Resources Management by April 15" of each year. The annual report consists of:
* Quantities of brine transported.
* The source of the brine
* The delivery point.

Failure to submit an annual report may result in and administrative order and/or civil penalties. The format of
the brine hauler annual report may be altered to accommodate data entry; however, the information required
will remain the same.

If you have any questions, please contact me at (614)265-6923.
Sincerely,

Jennifer Gingras

Underground Injection Control (UIC) Section

Division of Oil & Gas Resourced Management

2045 Morse Rd. Building F-2

Columbus, Ohio 43229-6693

Enclosure
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